Two more chalkboards 

I have created another two chalkboards. I wanted to create two more because I wanted to create chalkboards that looked less chaotic as the previous four that I had made. I wanted to combine both physics and boilogical imagery. Again, the imagery isn’t a direct representation of science, but I wanted it to appear as if it is. I started by adding the gridlike diagram by simply drawing straight lines onto the boards then adding markings that look similar to circuit diagrams, I wanted to use white pencils because I wanted the lines to not be smudged, I wanted them to look precise and as if I had carefully thought about the structure of the lines. I also wanted to create a focal image for each board, something that the viewer would be instantly drawn to, compared to the chaotic look of the four chalkboards I had previously created. I wanted to use a range of different media for the focal images, such as graphite, chalk,white pastel and black pastel to add depth and create a variety of tones, as if the image is a 3D representation. I also used a putty rubber to create a glow around each focal image, to make the images appear to have importance to make the viewers recognise the markmaking aswell as wondering if it represents something which is academic. 

Leave a Reply

